gold-seal.GIF (17839 bytes)

buildcom-title2b.GIF (15258 bytes)





The codes and standards currently adopted and enforced by the Alabama Building Commission as the State Building Code are:

2009 International Building Code

2009 International Plumbing Code                                                

2009 International Mechanical Code                                             

2009 International Fuel Gas Code                                                  

2009 International Fire Code                                                          

2011 National Electric Code                                                     

ANSI/ASHRAE/IESNA Standard 90.1-2007 Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential

2010 Americans with Disability Act Accessibility Guidelines                               

(*) The requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities supersede the handicapped requirements contained in the International Building Code.

ICC/NSSA Standard for the Design and Construction of Storm Shelters (ICC500-2008)  The requirements of the ICC 500 are mandatory for new public K-12 schools only.

For additional requirements, refer to Chapter 2 of the Manual of Procedures.